Congratulations to the 2017 Scholarship Winners!

In its 12th annual ceremony, the Harvard-Kent Leadership & Scholarship Partnership was pleased to award $1000 college scholarships to six outstanding students at the Harvard-Kent Elementary School in Charlestown, MA, at an all-school ceremony on Friday, June 2nd.

The students – who didn’t know they had won until their names were called – were nominated by their teachers for “positively embodying the values of the school” and “being a good leader and friend,” explained Principal Jason Gallagher. To cheers from their classmates, the students climbed the stairs to the stage where they were greeted with hugs and some tears by excited family members who had stayed hidden off stage until the big moment.

Also congratulating the students were board members of the Partnership, former scholarship winners, and special guests Boston Mayor Martin Walsh, Superintendent of Boston Public Schools Dr. Tommy Chang, President of the Boston Teachers Union Richard Stutman, and Massachusetts State Representative Daniel Ryan.

This year’s winners are:

3rd grade:  Gabrielly Hernandez and Diego Soto Vasquez

4th grade:   Alexander Lebron and Keona Tyler

5th grade:   Safia Ibrahim and Jintian Huang

See article in The Boston Globe here.

The Partnership also congratulates the six scholarship winners who graduated from high school this spring, were awarded their scholarship checks, and are headed to college in the fall. These former Harvard-Kent students are:

Sihua Cai, Anna Chen, Zia Len Cen, Hamila Hussein, Nashely Montilla, and Breiyah Smalls